When Exempt Becomes Special….

I am “exempt.”  I heard “the woman” say that on the phone today.  She just kept repeating herself.  “No, he’s exempt.”  “No, he’s exempt from that too.”  Her voice just kept getting firmer as she kept repeating it.  I like that word “exempt.”  EXEMPT.  It’s like “special.”  Hearing it made me feel “special.”  For a minute, anyway.  Turns out “the woman” was talking to someone at the county animal control office.  Here in our county,  it is the law that you have to license your cats.  You have to have a rabies vaccination to get the license.  Even if you are an indoor cat.  I am an indoor cat.  I react HORRIBLY to the vaccination causing a lot of health drama and expense so my vetrinarian says I am “exempt” from the vaccination.  But when you deal with any bureaucracy,  “exempt” means “special,”  but more like “special case.”  You are bucking the system that is put in place for YOUR own good.  Regardless of how it affects you.  Here’s another word I heard repeated a lot yesterday:  BULLSHIT.  I think I like that word too.   More later…………T.W.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment